Unleashing My Inner Awesome

My "journey" through health, fitness and life in general

My issue is bigger than your issue

conflict

So much angst, so much fighting lately. I’ve been reading many many comments on Facebook and Twitter and in blogs about people feeling offended when others bring up issues. “You’re not allowed to feel bad about your post-baby belly and stretch marks because I’m infertile, you should just be grateful you can have a baby”. “You’re not allowed to feel good about your body because it makes me feel bad about mine”. “Don’t talk about enjoying food, it triggers my eating disorder”. “My cancer experience is definitely worse than your cancer experience”. “Don’t talk about your workout routines in front of me, it makes me feel guilty about not doing anything” (that one was an actual quote an acquaintence of mine received from a work colleague! They thought she was joking, but apparently she wasn’t.)

Maybe if we all paid less attention to what others say and do and more attention to our own behaviour, our lives would be easier. Maybe what really needs to happen is for everyone in the world to accept others for their own beliefs and hangups and weird little quirks, and love them for it. Wouldn’t that be good? If everyone just went “yep, that’s you. That’s what you think. It’s not what I think, but I absolutely respect and acknowledge your right to say it”.

Think about it. A worldwide movement starts with one person taking action. How about making it your action?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “My issue is bigger than your issue

  1. I love this post. So well said. I have been unable to get pregnant, and I myself have felt sad when others talk about ‘losing the baby weight’. But I would NEVER make someone else feel bad. I do think people need to be more loving and accepting of others. Great post. xx

  2. I agree with the above comment and your post, it’s like you can’t talk about anything these days. I’m going to a dinner tonight and I’m going to have to tip-toe around the calorie intake issue because of friends who I know will get funny at me for trying to lose weight when they’re bigger than me.

Thanks for letting me know what you think!

