Unleashing My Inner Awesome

My "journey" through health, fitness and life in general

The way things change…

Isn’t she beautiful? I bought this little charmer on Thursday night. A bit shout out to Bill at 99 Bikes in Chermside for staying an hour past closing to properly fit me with all the bits and pieces I needed. You guys are awesome!

So yesterday I took her out for her maiden ride. Another friend just upgraded to a very swish Trek road bike, and was keen for a longish ride to try stuff out. Like the maximum speed on the trip computer. We decided to ride from home (inner north west Brisbane) to Nudgee beach for lunch, a round trip of about 60km.

At lunch we were chatting about exercise, and fitness, and stuff like that. And a sentence that came out of my mouth gave me pause for thought. I found myself saying “I didn’t do <exercise program that everyone else did> this morning because I’ve decided Sunday is my rest day. I need to not exercise on my rest day, and I need to be really strict about it or I’ll get overtired again”.

And then I though. Today’s Sunday. I’ve just ridden 30km for lunch, and I’m about to ride 30km home again. Since when is THIS not exercise? It used to be, when did that change?

When I got fit. And when I realised that doing stuff isn’t necessarily formal exercise, but that fit people actually do active stuff for FUN! And being fit gives you the ability to do that as well. Lightbulb moment!!!

At which point the conversation evolved to the fact that there were stacks of families out on the bike path, some with kids in trailers and bike seats, some on their own set of wobbly wheels. My lunch mate informed me that her (self-admittedly obese, even though she isn’t any more) family never did stuff like that. Never. No bush walks ending in a picnic, no family bike rides. Like she said, it’s no wonder they turned out like they did.

My family did that stuff, but somewhere along the line I stopped. Think I need to start again…

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The way things change…

  1. Sarah McGee on said:

    I’ve ridden that distance a handful of times when I ride to work, which is 30km each way, and it most certainly feels like exercise to me. My gosh woman – I love this & I love your progression!! That’s how I feel about riding to the station or around my neighborhood – a sneaky 10km simply to get around (because I dont drive) is just transport…. and 9 months back riding downhill 4km reduced me to tears and gave me an asthma attack… just crazy. LOVE this, LOVE you – so amazing.

Thanks for letting me know what you think!

