Unleashing My Inner Awesome

My "journey" through health, fitness and life in general

Just a little milestone.

It’s a dodgy camera phone photo in the dim light of my bathroom, taken at some ungodly hour this morning. But this number on my scales is significant for a number of reasons.

It’s the first time I’ve seen a weight starting with a 7 in my adult life. Yep, I passed through the 80kg mark somewhere around my 18th birthday, and have been over that ever since. I’ve fluctuated somewhere between 80 and 100kg for the last 25 years of my life. I’ve been obese longer than I’ve been a healthy weight.

It’s 2/3 of the way down to my ultimate goal weight. I may revise it as I get closer, but at this stage I’d like to be 69kg with a body fat of 20-22%.

It takes me to 20.1kg lost since I started the Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation, which was actually 23 weeks ago. 20kg in under 6 months. 20kg feeling fitter and healthier and stronger than I ever have in my life. 20kg of fat and unhappiness, gone forever.

I’m a bit excited about this milestone. Someone asked me if I was going to do anything to celebrate. Actually I am! This week I started a new job, and next week I’ll get the payout from my old one. Several weeks of annual leave, along with excess salary packaging. I plan to purchase a rather expensive bike… This one. Yep, not new clothes (because they won’t fit me in a short time!) Not a massage (that’s part of my regular routine now). Not food, or alcohol, or any of the other indulgences. I’m excited about an unexpected windfall so I can buy a freaking bike! Not like the old me at all.

Single Post Navigation

Thanks for letting me know what you think!

